EU Just Transition Fund Territory

EU Just Transition Fund Territory

The Fund is designed to target areas that are most negatively affected by the transition towards climate neutrality. Several evidence-based assessments have identified certain counties and municipal districts in the wider Midlands as being the most negatively affected in Ireland by the closure of peat-reliant power stations. This will therefore be the target area of the EU Just Transition Fund (EU JTF).

This territorial designation was approved at Government level on the basis of: 

  • A county-level analysis supported through the Structural Reform Support Programme of the European Commission 
  • The reports and recommendations of the Just Transition Commissioner 
  • The coverage of the National Just Transition Fund 
  • A sub-county analysis commissioned by Government 
  • The territorial designation reports can be found on the official Goverment of Ireland website here:

The territory will consist of the counties and municipal districts listed in the table below as well as in the map.  

*Territorial selection and designation was approved by Government. Fáilte Ireland has no responsibility in territorial selection or designation.